Film Review: Suboxone

I had a chance to get more information about the new Suboxone film. I’ve decided I like it. It looks like one of those Listerine breath strips, and dissolves like one, too. When placed under the tongue, it dissolves faster than the tablets, but the taste is apparently about the same. The drug company’s representative brought me an inert (no active drug) film that’s supposed to taste exactly like the real thing. It was orange-flavored and bitterly sweet. While not terrible, it wasn’t tasty. But it was bearable. It dissolved very quickly, an advantage over the tablets.

I was concerned that my patients on 4mg or 12mg couldn’t use these films, as I heard they couldn’t be cut. But the drug company rep said the drug was evenly distributed on the film. Though the company’s official position was the film shouldn’t be cut into halves or fourths, it would probably work.  But she also reminded me that the drug company also says that about the tablets, but my patients use half-tabs frequently with no ill effects.

I don’t see any way the film can be snorted, though some creative and intelligent addict will probably find a way.

The films are contained in individual sealed pouches. Each pouch from the same box has the same number on it, meaning it would be very difficult to “fake” a pill (film) count if the doctor asked a patient to return to the pharmacy to make sure the appropriate amount of medication remains. If films from another box are substituted to make the count right, they will have different numbers. Very clever of the drug company. Oh, and the rep said the film would cost the same as the Suboxone tablet.

The film is available in pharmacies willing to stock it. If you are on Suboxone and want to try the film, be sure to ask your pharmacy to order it a few days before you think you will want to fill a prescription, to make sure they’ll have it.

I hope this delivery form is easier for patients and harder to divert or snort.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by cheri on September 25, 2010 at 2:56 am

    Thank-you for keeping us patients up to date. I wish someone would keep the Drs. up to date. ON September 15 I asked my Dr. what she thought of the film and she said she never heard of it. I was surprised, especially since these Drs. have to be licensed to give out suboxone. So much for keeping up to date on a product you have to be licenced for. She told me to find out more about it and she will give me a perscription for it when it comes out…I am a teeth fanatic , and my teeth look orange or dirty from the soboxone. I have to go to the dentist an extra 2 or 3 times a year to get them cleaned. So i will be trying the film as soon as possible and write and let you know of my experience

    Reply

  2. Posted by Holly Cutley on November 27, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I’ve been taking the suboxone sublingual films for about a month now and i think in comparison to the tablets they are great! Of course,just like the tablets, you have to keep them in your mouth without talking but thats not much of a problem since theyre fully dissolved within 15 minutes tops. But thats with me personally, I like to make sure that i am getting the full benefit from the film so I always leave my suboxone in for the max amount of time till I am confident that it is fully dissolved,but to be honest it always seems to be dissolved within just a few minutes.I feel like they work just as well if not better than tablets.The if not better part is because I seem to think my body absorbs more of the drug better than the tablets because when I was taking the tablets it always seemed like by the end of leaving the tablet in mouth without talking,eating,drinking,etc. for at least 30 minutes, there was a large amount of saliva “pooled” in my mouth that I would have to swallow. So to sum it up, I personally think that the Suboxone Sublingual Films are waaaaay better than the regular Suboxone Sublingual Tablets, hands down. Take Care All and God Bless!! :0)

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lil Lady on November 27, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    The films are better than tablets def! They taste same but the taste is not as strong as the tablets cuz it barely touches ur tongue since they are on a tiny film under ur tongue versus the messy tablets. i like them and will stick with them. def prefer films over tablets any day!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Janet C. on November 27, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    me and my friends all agree films are better than tabs! Less of inconvenience! Tastes same just not as bad

    Reply

  5. Posted by Dave H on February 16, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    Most pharmacies will need the Rx to order this drug. I just wanted to note that to people. Smaller or family run pharmacies will probably order it, but the trend usually is not to order medicines without the Rx.
    Not to avocate abuse. I have read that people wanting to snort this medication are mixing it with small amounts of water and then spraying it or misting it into the nose.

    Seems to be a lot of work for little or no increase in bio availably
    I also read that medcaid will now stop covering the tablets. Making people switch to the strips. I think that is wrong, but whatever. This seems to be a move to help R&B (drug company). I mean, what if generic tablets of Suboxone come out?
    Will they not cover them because they are in tablet form?

    DRH

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mayerstein on February 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    From what I understand from my doctor (he’s a Suboxone expert, regularly gives lectures on the drug) the film can be safely cut in half to get the correct dosage. He emphasized using small super sharp sheers. The drug is evenly distributed in the film. I checked with my rep from RB and she confirmed this. She also mentioned that although the doseing in the pill vs. Film is very similar, due to variations in individual patients chemistry, the dose may have to be slightly adjusted (by a few mgs. At most) but not in most cases.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Seth on February 27, 2011 at 8:09 am

    ive been on the film for 2 months now and have to agree its so much better than the pills taste is the same but linger forever like the pills plus dissolves way faster. The film does give me little blisters under my tounge but they don’t bother me at all. Anybody else experience this? The only thing i dont like is u have to put it in the rite placd under the tounge the first time for example if any part of the film sticks to your teeth it stays there and if you try to move it the film sticks to your hand your pretty much screwed after that but when it does stick i dont feel im getting the all the dosage. But other than that i prefer it 100% over the pills. I dont agree with some insurance companies only covering the film that’s ignorant it should be up to the patient IMO considering there the same price. I wish the best in everybodys recovery.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Seth on March 3, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    this is just a correction from my last post sorry about the way it’s posted it was from my cell phone so it’s a little messed up. I meant to say the taste DOES NOT linger forever like the pills. Anyways good luck everyone i wish u the best

    Reply

  9. Posted by crystyl on March 15, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    i was wondering if u can put the film under ur lip, i put it under my tongue an d still get the puddle of saliva. i cant just take my dose in the am i have to split it throughout the day. i feel like im not always getting the full dose. anyone have any tips?

    Reply

  10. Posted by Alice on December 14, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    My boyfriend and I have been on Opana (1/2 a pill each) pretty much every day for the last year and a half. We decided that we HAD to get off drugs and found a Dr that was willing to give us a Rx for Suboxone, instead of going to the clinic everyday. Where we live there isn’t alot of understanding for opiate addiction. So we just got our RX filled and did our first dose. (Although I have taken the pills before). I had a problem not swallowing. I’ve read that swallowing minimizes the effect, and you don’t get the correct dosage. So i guess my question is; Do you not swallow until its dissolved?… Because that ‘pool’ of spit is way gross but I want to make sure that I’m getting the correct dosage.

    Reply

    • Congratulations on starting your recovery! The active medication is absorbed throught the thin skin on the underside of the tongue relatively quickly. You can swallow, but try to keep your head tilted forward so that the saliva that’s mixed with medication stays under your tongue. The films dissolve fairly quickly, no more than ten minutes.

      Reply

      • Posted by Alice on December 15, 2011 at 1:28 am

        Thank you so much! Your blog and the people on here have actually been really influential and helpful.

  11. Posted by Finch on May 1, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    the film stuck to my finger then the top of my tongue and turned into a ball.Still tried to keep under my tongue and kept saliva for half an hour .Think it got absorbed?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

