Check out Suboxone Talk Zone

You’ve got to surf on over to Dr. Junig’s letter to a certain fictional company CEO. It’s very clever. (Dr. Junig is the brains behind Suboxone Talk Zone:  http://www.suboxonetalkzone.com/

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by dbc910281927681 on October 7, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    When a patient asked how much longer he or she would have to endure withdrawals from Buprenorphine, relating the duration to its long half life, I disagree with the Answer given:”There are many misconceptions about withdrawal and buprenorphine. Many people make the mistake of thinking that the long half-life of Suboxone lengthens withdrawal. The long half-life of buprenorphine reduces the intensity of withdrawal, but has a very minor effect on the duration of withdrawal symptoms.” – But who am I to disagree? Hint: Nobody.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Benjamin K. Phelps on October 8, 2012 at 3:02 am

    OMG, I didn’t realize they were now attempting to force Roxane to stop manufacturing generic buprenorphine tablets!! Whoa! Although I must admit – I’m not sure why Roxy didn’t also put out the combo (bupe-nal) tabs, too. I’m sure it’s a patent issue, b/c I know they get multiple patents on items, patenting not only the compound, its synthesis route, and all that jazz, but also its indications. Sound about right? Anyway, they are REALLY trying to STOP the generic now? I had given them credit for patenting the Sub/Sub b/c I knew they had to get a return on their investment (even though it was still rather underhanded, as she pointed out, since it was already a generic drug and needed no modification to treat opioid dependency.) But this sheds a whole new light on them. It’s quite saddening to know they care so little about our health and well-being. Speaking of misleading people about naloxone, I keep reading on a certain doctor’s website out of Richmond (who’s VERY anti-medication-assisted treatment, btw) that his naltrexone implants are virtually 100% fool-proof w/virtually 100% success, but the BIG mind-bender for me is that he claims it relieves cravings. PLEASE, tell me if I’m wrong here, but how is an antagonist, which blocks the chemical your body is lacking if science is correct about the way medication-assisted treatment works, not pharmacologically backwards? And HOW is it going to relieve cravings AT ALL?? Even if it keeps you from feeling opioids, it’s never lived up to the whole reason it was invented/discovered, which was to provide a non-addictive alternative to methadone/opioids that would hopefully keep addicts clean w/out causing them a dependency itself. That did NOT happen – retention rates were horrible b/c people can just stop taking it today and use tomorrow or the next day. I don’t know about you all out there, but I had NO problem planning a few days in advance when I wanted to use. In fact, I once planned 6 months in advance while in treatment for my home-visit at my 6-month mark – I actually called the “supplier” 6 months before I would make that visit to set it up!! And naltrexone, a 2-day at most drug is supposed to make me stay clean for the long-haul?? Please.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

