The Disease of Addiction, Explained

addicted brain

 

 

The New England Journal of Medicine published an excellent review article explaining the neuroscience of addiction in their January 28, 2016 issue. It was written by three heavy-hitters in the addiction field: Dr. Nora Volkow, the director of NIDA, Dr. George Koob, the director of NIAAA; and Dr. Thomas McLellan, founder of the Treatment Research Institute.

This article should lay to rest any debate about whether addiction is a disease of the brain.

http://www.nejm.org/doi/pdf/10.1056/NEJMra1511480

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Bev Straneva on March 20, 2016 at 6:18 pm

    I don’t suppose you read this but if you do, I wanted you to read what my 32 year old only child sent to me on what turned out to be the last morning of his life. I wanted to pay for vivitrol but he didn’t think he needed it. He was so tired. Sincerely Beverly Straneva

    > “I am powerless over a compulsive behaviour i cannot control. ..i am sick and seeking my medicine as hard as i can….im a good person…i love, i want to be honest,im creative, im grateful, i was raised by saints,…. i want the – on my tombstone to mean something. …i am crying everyday to a god im trying to believe in to give me strength to help me move on…and i know that if i survive this i will bring a message to others just like me…that it gets better. ..i just haven’t been able to grip something others have…so i keep trying. …and there is nothing you could have done different. …I AM A TRUE ADDICT..since 5/21/83”

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

  2. Posted by Shana on June 22, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    That is very sad and tragic Bev. I wish I had words to comfort you. My only sibling is an addict and just got out of rehab for the 2nd time and is using again. I have tried every thing to help him the last 10 years since our parents died and it is of no use. He lies and manipulates and estranges people from him. I am sad every day that he lives in the same town as me and yet he is not a part of my life. If he was not married, he would already be homeless and on the streets. I am learning it isn’t about me but is sometimes feels like it is and what else could I have done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

