Recovery Means…

aaareco

 

 

 

It’s nearly Thanksgiving, so to celebrate, I wanted to re-run a post about what recovery means to me. Hopefully my readers can add to this list:

Recovery means…

….taking the worst and most embarrassing thing in my life and turning it into my greatest asset.

….becoming less judgmental of other people.

….remaining teachable.

….having more free time, after the burden of looking for the “next one” has been lifted.

…looking in the mirror, and feeling content at what I see.

….being satisfied with the small pleasures in life.

….developing a thicker skin for judgmental people. They aren’t going to ruin my day.

….re-connecting with the human race.

….re-connecting with the God of my understanding.

…reconnecting with myself.

….doing what I need to do for my well-being, even if other people don’t approve.

….being happy when I make progress, no longer expecting perfection.

….talking frequently with other people who share my passion for recovery.

Recovery goes beyond 12-step programs or medication-assisted treatment. Recovery can apply to issues other than drug addiction. It can apply to eating disorders, co-dependency, gambling problems, sex addiction, or any other compulsive activity that is bad for our health. We can be in good recovery in one area of our life and be in active addiction in other areas. We have good and bad days. We relapse, and we try again, and we stop listening to the voice of addiction that tells us we should give up because we will always fail. We learn from our failures and come to look at them as opportunities for growth. We turn stumbling blocks into stepping stones. We lift up our fellow travelers when they weaken and they do the same for us.

We do recover.

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks, great post

    Erik Gras (206)734-5247 ________________________________

    Reply

  2. Brilliant !! I am going to read this in group tonight.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Dana on November 24, 2015 at 11:20 am

    This post says more than I could ever say myself…
    Thank You, Dans

    Reply

  4. Posted by Miriam L on November 24, 2015 at 11:54 am

    Thank you. I work in a methadone treatment program, and am definitely going to read this with my groups this week. I am grateful for your blog and your excellent advocacy.

    Reply

  5. Says it all? Thank You.
    Dana

    Reply

Leave a comment